Women's World Cup 2019 : Round of 16 gets underway Saturday.

The group stage at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France has come to an end. Twenty four teams narrowed to 16 after each nation played three games. The United States women’s national team, France, England and Germany all advanced to the round of 16 .

USA started its title defense with a 13-0 win over Thailand , and closed out the group stage with a 2-0 victory over Sweden on Thursday to finish at the top of Group F. 

The U.S. might face Spain in its knockout stage opener, and play France in the quarterfinals.

The U.S. also has Australia, Norway, Brazil and England on its side of the bracket with Germany, Japan, Sweden and the Netherlands looking like possible finalists on the B side. 

Cameroon and Nigeria teams enter knock out round for the first time in Women’s World Cup History.

Africa has two teams in the knockout stage: Cameroon qualified by winning against New Zealand but Nigeria’s hopes of qualification were in the middle at the start of two games in Group E and F.

Round of 16 schedule

Saturday, June 22
Germany vs. Nigeria, 6:30 p.m.
Norway vs. Australia, 10 p.m.

Sunday, June 23
England vs. Cameroon, 6:30 p.m.
France vs. Brazil, 10 p.m.

Monday, June 24
Spain vs. United States, 7:00pm
Sweden vs. Canada 7 p.m.

Tuesday, June 25
Italy vs. China, 7 p.m.
Netherlands vs. Japan, 10 p.m.


Thursday, June 27
TBD vs. TBD, 10 p.m.

Friday, June 28
TBD vs. TBD, 10 p.m.

Saturday, June 29
TBD vs. TBD, 4 p.m.
TBD vs. TBD, 7:30 p.m.


Tuesday, July 2
TBD vs. TBD, 10 p.m.

Wednesday, July 3
TBD vs. TBD, 10 p.m.

Third-place game

Saturday, July 6
TBD vs. TBD, 6 p.m.


Sunday, July 7
TBD vs. TBD, 6 p.m.