Women’s Champions League group stage draw from Nyon

The draw for the new UEFA Women’s Champions League group stage will be streamed live from Nyon on Monday 13 September.

In all, 16 teams will compete in the competition’s first group stage to be played with home and away games:

Holders: Barcelona (ESP)
Champions of the three highest-ranked associations: Paris Saint-Germain (FRA), Bayern München (GER), Chelsea (ENG)*
Round 2 winners: Arsenal (ENG), Benfica (POR), Breidablik (ISL), Häcken (SWE), HB Køge (DEN), Hoffenheim (GER), Juventus (ITA), WFC Kharkiv (UKR), Lyon (FRA), Real Madrid (ESP), Servette (SUI), Wolfsburg (GER)

Premier League champions Manchester City begin their 2021/22 season under way at Tottenham Hotspur when the new season kicks off on the weekend of August 14.

Draw procedure

For the purpose of the draw, the 16 clubs involved in the group stage are seeded into four pots of four.

Pot 1 consists of the holders and the three domestic champions of the associations ranked highest in the access list (i.e. Barcelona, Paris, Bayern and Chelsea). The remaining pots are composed in accordance with the club coefficient rankings established at the beginning of the season.

Four groups of four teams will be formed, each group consisting of one team from each seeding pot. Clubs from the same association cannot be drawn into the same group, with any other restrictions confirmed ahead of the draw.


Barcelona (ESP) – title holders
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
Bayern München (GER)
Chelsea (ENG)


Lyon (FRA)
Wolfsburg (GER)
Arsenal (ENG)


Real Madrid


WFC Kharkiv
Servette FCCF
HB Køge (DEN)
Benfica (POR)

Season calendar

Group stage
Matchday 1: 5/6 October
Matchday 2: 13/14 October
Matchday 3: 9/10 November
Matchday 4: 17/18 November
Matchday 5: 8/9 December
Matchday 6: 15/16 December

Quarter-final & semi-final draw
20 December

First leg: 22/23 March
Second leg: 30/31 March

First leg: 23/24 April
Second leg: 30 April/1 May

Final (Juventus Stadium, Turin)
Date tbc