Where it all started.

Discover the origins and history of English football.

The 2018/19 season was the 27th of the Premier League since it started back in 1992. The First Division clubs resigned from the Football League in May 1992 and the Premier League was formed, on Saturday 15 August 1992.

Below, is the story of how the titles were won and the players who starred.

From 2011/12’s finale, to Arsenal’s “Invincibles”, Manchester United’s 13 record triumphs…

1995/96 Season Review

Premier League title for the first time in 1994/95 to Blackburn Rovers, Manchester United sold established first-team trio Paul Ince, Andrei Kanchelskis and Mark Hughes without bringing in any major additions. Sir Alex Ferguson recovered from being 12 points behind Newcastle United to win their third PL crown, in a league that was reduced to 20 teams.

1996/97 Season Review

Man Utd lift the Premier League trophy for the fourth time in just five seasons

Manchester United and Newcastle United premier League campaign, and the two sides were the main protagonists again in 1996/97.

Newcastle, Alan Shearer, arrived at his hometown club from Blackburn Rovers for £15million in July.

1997/98 Season Review

Arsene Wenger drove Arsenal to their first Premier League triumph

Arsenal manager, Arsene Wenger guided his side to a Premier League title since 1991. Arsenal knocked Manchester United off top spot for just the second time in the Premier League and finished it off by winning the FA Cup to complete the double.

1998/99 Season Review

Man Utd’s fifth Premier League title (historic treble)

Manchester United became the first English club to win the treble of Premier League, FA Cup and UEFA Champions League treble in all three competitions.

The first of the three trophies was the Premier League title. The Gunners fell short by just one point as Andrew Cole sealed a comeback victory for Man Utd against Tottenham Hotspur at Old Trafford on the final day.

1999/00 Season Review

Man Utd – Premier League champions for the sixth time in eight seasons

Manchester United historic Premier League, FA Cup and UEFA Champions League treble the previous season, Sir Alex Ferguson led his team to a sixth PL title in eight seasons, retaining the trophy by a record 18 points.

Arsenal, finished a point adrift of Man Utd in 1998/99, replaced tstriker Nicolas Anelka with Thierry Henry. The 1998 FIFA World Cup-winning France established himself as one of the Premier League’s most lethal strikers.

2000/01 Season Review

Man Utd third consecutive Premier League title

Manchester United defended their Premier League champions, with a seventh title in nine seasons since the competition’s inception in 1992.

Sir Alex Ferguson team became the first team to win three consecutive top-flight crowns since Liverpool in 1983/84.

2001/02 Season Review

Arsenal second Premier League title

Arsenal ended three seasons of dominance for Manchester United with a 1-0 win at Old Trafford. The 2001/02 Premier League season was full of change, as other clubs looked to challenge for United’s crown.

Frank Lampard’s arrived from West Ham United, Premier League debutants Fulham made the surprise signing of Dutch goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar from Juventus, and compatriot Ruud van Nistelrooy arrived at Manchester United.

2002/03 Season Review

Man Utd win their eighth Premier League title

Premier League reached 10 years of compelling competition, Sir Alex Ferguson side overcame an eight-point deficit from defending champions Arsenal.

Rio Ferdinand from Leeds United replaced manager David O’Leary with Terry Venables in the summer, the Red Devils struggled to keep up with Arsene Wenger’s Arsenal side.

2003/04 Season Review

Arsenal’s Invincibles were unbeaten to win their third Premier League title

The 2003/04 Premier League season went down in history as a landmark one for Arsenal, who went the entire league campaign undefeated, with 26 wins and 12 draws.

2004/05 Season Review

Jose Mourinho guide Chelsea to their maiden Premier League title

Chelsea appointed Jose Mourinho, as manager. In his first press conference, he announced himself as the “Special One” and immediately justified his words with a sensational debut season that ended with a league title.

Petr Cech, Arjen Robben, Ricardo Carvalho and Didier Drogba were among a host of summer signings for Chelsea.

2005/06 Season Review

Defending champions Chelsea win their second Premier League title

Jose Mourinho led the Blues to back-to-back titles with another memorable campaign in 2005/06.

2006/07 Season Review

Sir Alex Ferguson – Man Utd’s ninth Premier League title

2007/08 Season Review

Cristiano Ronaldo – Man Utd to their 10th Premier League trophy