The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2019 awards: Salah and Mane, shortlisted.

Two African players have been shortlisted for “The Best FIFA Football Awards.”

The shortlist was announce on Wednesday (July 31) and Liverpool duo Mohamed Salah (Egypt) and Sadio Mane (Senegal) are in a list of ten players. The list will be cut down to three players before a winner is announced in September.

Mane won 2018 UEFA Champions League and was joint top-scorer in Premier League and was a key in Senegal’s progress to the African Cup of Nations in Egypt even though the Teranga Lions lost to Algeria in the finals.

Salah helped Liverpool win the UEFA Champions League making it the sixth in the club’s history. He also became the club’s top goalscorer in all competitions in 2018 /2019 season and was joint top-scorer in Premier League along with Mane and Arsenal and Gabonese international Pierre Emerick Aubameyang.

Others who made the shortlist included:

  • Kylian Mbappe = France / Paris St-Germain
  • Virgil Van Dijk = Netherlands / Liverpool
  • Eden Hazard = Belgium / Chelsea now Real Madrid
  • Frenkie de Jong = Netherlands / Ajax
  • Matthijs de Ligt = Netherlands / Juventus
  • Harry Kane = England / Tottenham
  • Cristiano Ronaldo = Portugal / Juventus
  • Lionel Messi = Argentina / Barcelona

Cristiano Ronaldo will be hoping to reclaim his crown from last year’s The Best FIFA Men’s Player Luka Modric.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player nominees

Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais
Julie Ertz (USA) – Chicago Red Stars
Caroline Graham Hansen (NOR) – Wolfsburg / FC Barcelona
Ada Hegerberg (NOR) – Olympique Lyonnais
Amandine Henry (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais
Sam Kerr (AUS) – Chicago Red Stars / Perth Glory
Rose Lavelle (USA) – Washington Spirit
Vivianne Miedema (NED) – Arsenal
Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride
Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC
Wendie Renard (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais
Ellen White (ENG) – Birmingham City / Manchester City

The Best FIFA Women’s Player trophy will have a totally new name with 11 of the 12 candidates performing on the global stage in France.

Didier Deschamps and Reynald Pedros are planning to retain their title as the top coaches in world football, but this year we have standout performers after this year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach nominees

Djamel Belmadi (ALG) – Algeria national team
Didier Deschamps (FRA) – France national team
Marcelo Gallardo (ARG) – River Plate
Ricardo Gareca (ARG) – Peru national team
Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City
Jurgen Klopp (GER) – Liverpool
Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur
Fernando Santos (POR) – Portugal national team
Erik ten Hag (NED) – Ajax
Tite (BRA) – Brazil national team

The voting process

The ten-man shortlist for The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2019 award – based on their respective achievements during the period from 16 July 2018 to 19 July 2019 inclusive – compiled by a panel of experts in men’s football.

Fans can vote for their personal top three (First choice: 5 points, second choice: 3 points and third choice: 1 point).

The fan vote will be equally weighted alongside the votes of other key members of the footballing community – eg journalists, national team coaches and captains.

The three finalists for each award will be revealed at a later date, with all award winners revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in Milan on 23 September 2019.

Who are you voting for?