Euro 2020 tournament and who qualified

Who has already qualified?

  • Russia
  • Belgium
  • Italy
  • Ukraine
  • Poland
  • Spain

The 16th UEFA European Championship runs from June 12 to July 12, 2020, and 12 cities across the continent have been selected as hosts.

The 12 cities and stadiums are:

  • Amsterdam (Netherlands) – Johan Cruyff Arena
  • Baku (Azerbaijan) – Olympic Stadium
  • Bilbao (Spain) – San Mames
  • Bucharest (Romania) – Arena Nationala
  • Budapest (Hungary) – Puskas Arena
  • Copenhagen (Denmark) – Parken Stadium
  • Dublin (Republic of Ireland) – Aviva Stadium
  • Glasgow (Scotland) – Hampden Park
  • London (England) – Wembley Stadium
  • Munich (Germany) – Allianz Arena
  • Rome (Italy) – Stadio Olimpico
  • Saint Petersburg (Russia) – Krestovsky Stadium

Rome’s Stadio Olimpico will host the opening match on June 12, while England’s national stadium Wembley will stage both semi-finals and the final.

The Euro 2020 Qualifiers

The qualifying campaign for next summer’s tournament kicked off in March 2019 and is set to conclude in March 2020. The top two teams from each of the 10 groups will qualify for Euro 2020 – with the qualifying group phase ending in November 2019 – while the four remaining positions will be decided in the Nations League play-offs in March 2020.

When is the Euro 2020 draw?

The draw for the finals will take place in Bucharest, Romania on November 30 with the 24 qualifying teams to be drawn into six groups of four.

At this point in November, the four final spots – set to be decided in March 2020’s play-offs – will not be known, but they will still be drawn into a group.

How will the draw work?

The 24 qualifiers will be split into six groups through a seeding system that is calculated based on:

  1. a) final position in group
  2. b) points
  3. c) goal difference
  4. d) goals scored
  5. e) away goals scored
  6. f) number of wins
  7. g) number of away wins
  8. h) lower disciplinary points total
  9. i) position in overall UEFA Nations League rankings.

Play-off winners will therefore all be in the fourth seeding pot.

The knockout schedule

Each city will host one last 16 or quarter-final match, before London takes centre stage for the semi-finals and final. There is no third-place play-off.

The knockouts will run from June 27 to July 12:

Round of 16
June 27: 1A v 2C, London – 2A v 2B, Amsterdam
June 28: 1B v 3A/D/E/F, Bilbao – 1C v 3D/E/F, Budapest
June 29: 2D v 2E, Copenhagen – 1F v 3A/B/C, Bucharest
June 30: 1E v 3A/B/C/D, Glasgow – 1D v 2F, Dublin

July 3: Saint Petersburg and Munich
July 4: Baku and Rome