AFCON 2019: knockout stage update and fixtures.

Twenty-four teams made it to AFCON in Egypt, so far eight teams been eliminated out of the competition leaving sixteen others to continue with the hope of becoming champions.

Two top teams from each group automatically qualified for the round of 16 stage, with the other four being the third best teams across the groups.

We resume on Friday (July 5) when the first two games of the round of 16 will be played. Two games will be played on the 6th, 7th and 8th July to determine who will make it to the eight quarter finalists.

Who are the 16 teams that have qualified and fixture details.

The 16 teams (alphabetically)

Algeria – Benin – Cameroon – DR Congo – Egypt – Ghana – Guinea – Ivory Coast – Madagascar – Mali – Morocco – Nigeria – Senegal – South Africa – Tunisia – Uganda

How did they qualify..

GROUP A: Egypt (1st) – Uganda (2nd) – DR Congo (Best third)
GROUP B: Madagascar (1st) – Nigeria (2nd) – Guinea (Best third)
GROUP C: Algeria (1st) – Senegal (2nd)
GROUP D: Morocco (1st) – Ivory Coast (2nd) – South Africa (Best third)
GROUP E: Mali (1st) – Tunisia (2nd)
GROUP F: Ghana (1st) – Cameroon (2nd) – Benin (Best third)

Teams that were eliminated (alphabetically)

Angola – Burundi – Guinea-Bissau – Kenya – Mauritania – Namibia – Tanzania – Zimbabwe

Round of 16 pairings