2019/20 UEFA Women’s Champions League.

Brief history

The Women’s Champions League is Europe’s biggeste club competition.

Originally named the UEFA Women’s Cup, made its debut back in 2001/02 season before its rebrand for the 2009/10 campaign when, the runners-up from the top eight ranked nations were able to participate.

The format of the final was also changed, becoming a single match played in the same city.

Six-time winners and current holders Lyon are one of the most successful club in the history of the competition.

Arsenal women are the only English side to have won the tournament, defeating Umea 1-0 over two legs back in April 2007.

The tournament involves the top club teams affiliated with the European governing body UEFA.

A record of about 62 teams from 50 associations have entered the 2019/20 edition.

The group winners progress to join 22 teams given byes to the round of 32.

NOTE: There is no group stage in the UWCL.

The contenders

Qualifying round groups

Group 1: SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH, hosts), Breidablik (ISL), ASA Tel-Aviv University, ŽFK Dragon 2014 (MKD)

Group 2:
Universitatea Olimpia Cluj (ROU), NSA Sofia (BUL), Breznica Pljevlja (MNE, hosts), Mitrovica (KOS)

Group 3:
Hibernian (SCO), Pomurje Beltinci (SVN, hosts), Cardiff Met (WAL), FC Nike (GEO)

Group 4:
FC Minsk (BLR), Kharkiv (UKR, hosts), ŽNK Split (CRO), Bettembourg (LUX)

Group 5:
ŽFK Spartak (SRB), Ferencváros (HUN), Slovan Bratislava (SVK, hosts), Agarista – SS Anenii Noi (MDA)

Group 6:
BIIK-Kazygurt (KAZ), PK-35 Vantaa (FIN), Flora Tallinn (EST, hosts), EBS/Skála (FRO)

Group 7:
Apollon LFC (CYP), Sturm Graz (AUT), Braga (POR), Rīgas Futbola skola (LVA, hosts)

Group 8:
LSK Kvinner (NOR), PAOK (GRE), Anderlecht (BEL, hosts), Linfield (NIR)

Group 9:
FC Twente (NED, hosts), Górnik Łęczna (POL), Beşiktaş (TUR), Alashkert (ARM)

Group 10:
Gintra Universitetas (LTU, hosts), Vllaznia (ALB), Wexford Youths (IRL), Birkirkara (MLT)

Key dates

Qualifying round: 7, 10 & 13 August 2019
Round of 32 draw: 16 August 2019, Nyon
Round of 32: 11/12 & 25/26 September 2019
Round of 16 draw: 30 September 2019, Nyon
Round of 16: 16/17 & 30/31 October 2019
Quarter-final & semi-final draw: 8 November 2019, Nyon
Quarter-finals: 24/25 March & 1/2 April 2020
Semi-finals: 25/26 April & 2/3 May 2020
Final (Viola Park, Vienna): 24 May 2020